Some of you may be wondering if I ever lose games. I only post games on here that I win. Well, to answer your question, I lose plenty of games! I just don't feel like posting them.
Here is a game that I lost but SHOULD have won. How many of you can say that about many of your games? If you're like me probably several.
I was playing a queens gambit declined as black in this game. Up to move 29 I was definitely playing like a master and the win is imminent. Black just has to many threats. Unfortunately I suffered a "head up ass" moment and instead of just protecting my rook and ALSO attacking the queen on move 30 with Nc6, I play the retard move of Rd7. Yeah this does move it out of capture but it gives white the chance to regroup with Rf1. If I play Nc6, the queen has to move and then I win outright with Nf2 check.
Anyway, the blunders don't stop there. See move 31 for black Nf4??????. This just LOSES. I completely missed the rook check on the back rank (didn't help that I move the rook to d7 earlier!) and then white just takes next move on e5. Finished.
Wow, I'm still beating myself up over this one. I think I was really proud of myself for finding the move 27 Rxa2!! (I am giving it two exclams!) But, unless you can "close the deal" it doesn't matter how many pretty moves you made earlier if you end up losing the game. No mercy and complete concentration to the VERY END!!! ARGGHHH!!
Here is the move list and the picture of the analysis by Fritz 10
BLACK SHOULD JUST PLAY Nc6 next move and it's over. Instead black plays Rd7.
I was playing around with a line in the Ruy Lopez that I found on YouTube. I highly recommend you try this line of play with black. Check it out.
Here is a game that I played against the Citrine at a one hour time control. This is the second game in a row that I've won against the Citrine at a one hour time control. I'm not sure what the heck is going on....maybe I'm getting better?? nawww.... Here is the game and then a screen shot of where the Citrine actually did resign. Enjoy!
As far as I can tell, no major blunders on my part, but of course I could have made some better moves. I'd definitely like to get any feedback on this game.
Here are the moves and I've put the position where it's really over for all practical purposes (The Citrine of course still plays on)
Pulled from one of the PDF files in the month 3 information. A very fine quote from Capablanca:
“Very often in a game a master only plays to cut off, so to speak, one of the pieces from the scene of actual conflict. Often a Bishop or a Knight is completely out of action. In such cases we might say that from that moment the game is won, because for all practical purposes there will be one more piece on one side than on the other.” - Jose Raul Capablanca I think a lot of beginners and intermediate players really try to go out of their way to trap a piece if they think there is an opportunity. I know that I have really struggled and tried to calculate ways that I could possibly capture a bishop/knight that has gotten into deep into my position. I think an easier plan is to try and neutralizing its effectiveness and or just trying to keep it away from the action (where you have most of your pieces)